Trending news

Phil Foden Reveals Next Target After He Won FWA Footballer Of The Year Award

Manchester City’s standout player, Phil Foden, was honored as the FWA Footballer of the Year, edging out his national teammate from Arsenal, Declan Rice, who placed second, and his teammate from the same club, Rodri, who secured third place in the rankings.

The English international is unquestionably enjoying his finest season in a Manchester City jersey since being elevated to the senior squad by Pep Guardiola. Throughout this season, he has elevated his performance and demonstrated resilience in keeping City progressing amidst their injury woes.

Pep Guardiola at a point this season lostà his top attacking player, Kevin De Bruyne, and his prolific goal scorer, Erling Haaland, to injuries. De Bruyne, the talented Belgian playmaker, was sidelined for a significant portion of the season, while the Norwegian striker, known for his goal-scoring prowess, struggled with various injury setbacks.

During their absence, Phil Foden emerged as the primary threat to Manchester City’s opponents, delivering remarkable displays and increasing his goal involvements. The 23-year-old assumed additional duties, netting his first free-kick for the first team alongside his many of decisive goals which includes two hat-trick.

Following his recognition as the FWA Footballer Of The Year, Foden claimed that his journey for the season is far from over. He revealed his unwavering resolve to lead Manchester City in securing trophies and concluding the season as strong as possible.

“I’m immensely proud to have won this award. Now I am focused on seeking to finish the season as strongly as possible and to try to help City win more trophies,” Foden said in his statement.

“I strive to be the best that I can be every single day and that is all down to the way the manager and my colleagues always seek to improve and get better.”

Khadija Shaw Won The Women Category Of FWA Footballer Of The Year Award

While Phil won the male category, Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw claimed the female category following her superb performances for Manchester City women team.

Shaw and Chelsea’s Lauren James are the primary contenders for the accolade, collectively securing 80% of the overall votes. Nevertheless, the Manchester City forward, who netted 21 goals and delivered three assists in 18 WSL matches, ultimately triumphed over James to claim the prestigious award.

Man City’s Alex Greenwood finishing third. Yui Hasegawa, Elisabeth Terland and Khiara Keating completed the top six.

Toba Atoyebi

A seasoned sports journalist with extensive experience in the field, having contributed to numerous news outlets worldwide.
Back to top button

Discover more from Man City Report

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading